Here is a detailed instruction on how to set up the hardware for simultaneous mining of two cryptocurrencies at once

How miners can increase their income. Mining several cryptocurrencies at once

05.05.2022 Vasiliy Smirnov Vasiliy Smirnov

In 2021, Nvidia released a new line of RTX 3000 Lite Hash Rate (LHR) graphics cards, which automatically lower the hash rate by 50% when mining Ethereum. This decision was made in order to reduce miners' interest in the graphics cards. But those restrictions did not stop them; some time later, they managed to unlock additional capacity that made LHR cards 74% more efficient.

The mining community is constantly looking for new ways to increase income. Mining two cryptocurrencies simultaneously is one such way. By 2022, enthusiasts have learned how to use different combinations of coins. Learn more about how to set up dual mining and which pairs of cryptocurrencies are the most profitable.

What is dual mining?

Dual mining, or paired mining, is a technology that allows you to mine two cryptocurrencies in parallel on the same device. Accordingly, dual mining takes place in two chains simultaneously, using the Auxiliary Proof of Work (AuxPoW) algorithm. With this system, one of the assets will be the “parent” and the other will be the “auxiliary.”

When dual mining is done with a graphics card, one cryptocurrency uses the graphics processing unit (GPU) and the other uses the central processing unit (CPU). There are also special ASIC miners for mining two cryptocurrencies simultaneously. Gridseed GC3355 belongs to such hardware, you can mine Litecoin together with Dogecoin on such models.

Pairs with Ethereum

Ethereum uses the Ethash hashing algorithm, besides ETH it is used by other cryptocurrencies: Ethereum Classic (ETC), Musicoin (MUSIC), Ubiq (UBQ), Expanse (EXP). Paired with ETH and the previously listed coins you can mine: Alephium (ALPH), Conflux (CFX), Ergo (ERG), RavenCoin (RVN), TonCoin (TON), etc. The profitability of each combination can be calculated using the WhatToMine service.

It is worth noting that dual mining requires a large amount of video memory, as the GPU must store two complete sets of data from each blockchain, which are called directed acyclic graphs (DAGs).

ETH + ERG. This combination requires 8GB of video memory. Mining on RTX 3080Ti can achieve hashing speeds of 35 Mh/s for ETH and 180 Mh/s for ERGO.

ETH + RVN. Dual Ravencoin and Ethereum mining requires at least 10GB of video memory on Windows and 8GB on Linux. Using 3080Ti produces a hashing speed of 35 Mh/s for ETH and 29 Mh/s for Ravencoin.

ETH + CFX. Ethereum and Conflux is the only combination that requires 10 GB of video memory. With the 3080Ti, ETH/CFX hashing speeds reach 36 Mh/s and 60 Mh/s, respectively.

ETH + TON. This bind requires less than 8 GB of video memory. Hashing speeds on 3080Ti will reach 87 Mh/s for ETH and 263 Mh/s for TON. This combination is considered the most profitable as of the end of April 2022, generating 50% more revenue compared to single Ethereum mining.

Setup for Ethereum + Ergo

To start dual ETH + ERG mining, you need to use Claymore's Dual Ethereum Miner for Windows. First of all, you need to register wallets for the selected cryptocurrencies. Secondly, choose the mining pools that support these two assets.

Next, move on to configuring the miner. To do this create a .bat file in the folder with the program. The first part of the file will be for Ethereum, the second one for Ergo.

The final version of the file should look like this:

EthDcrMiner64.exe -epool “Ethereum pool address” -ewal “Ethereum wallet address” -eworker “worker name in Ethereum pool” 
-epsw “worker password in Ethereum pool” -dpool “Decred pool address” -dwal “Ergo wallet address”
-dworker “worker name in Ergo pool ” -dpsw “worker password in Ergo pool” -dcri 30

Note: for some pools it is not necessary to specify the password and the name of the worker, as well as a wallet address, as funds can be credited directly to the platform. There are ready-made presets and services for creating .bat files on the Internet.

The -dcri parameter is responsible for the intensity of Ergo mining, it is recommended to set the parameter at 30 to 45; if you increase the intensity, the hashing speed of coins will start to decrease, and the graphics card will overheat.

After these settings, you need to run Claymore through the previously created .bat file, and then the program will display the hashrate and temperature data in the console. When mining in pairs, the graphics card heats up much faster, so it is recommended to set the maximum allowable temperature at which the process will be automatically interrupted. You can experiment with the settings to achieve the optimal hashrate.

Setup for Ethereum + Toncoin

In February 2022, the developers of lolMiner managed to implement a dual-mining feature for TON and ETH. Mining these two coins is almost 50% more profitable than single Ethereum mining. TON mining requires only 2 to 3 GB of video memory, so it can be done on weaker devices.

First, you need to register wallets for both coins. Next, download lolMiner, the program is available for Windows, Linux, RaveOS, HiveOS. There will be five .bat files in the downloaded archive:

  • dual_mine_eth_aleph_herominer.bat
  • dual_mine_eth_aleph_woolypooly.bat
  • dual_mine_eth_ton_icemining.bat
  • dual_mine_eth_ton_toncoinpool.bat
  • dual_mine_eth_ton_tonwales.bat

These files are for different TON pools, let's take TonWales as an example.

Note: lolMiner uses the Ethermine pool for ETH mining by default. It is recommended to change it, as the service no longer works with users from Russia.

Open the required .bat in notepad, find the following lines and change the parameters to your own:

set “POOL=pool for Ethereum (default is Ethermine)”
set “WALLET=Ethereum wallet address.device name”
set “TONPOOL=https://server1.whalestonpool.com”
set “TONWALLET=Tomcoin wallet address”

Then run lolMiner through the created file. Mining efficiency will be different on different devices, but considering the profitability of both coins, dual mining will always be more profitable than mining only Ethereum. Detailed statistics on ETH + TON mining can be found at Hashrate.no.

Dual mining of LTC + DOGE and other cryptocurrencies

The Litecoin network uses the Scrypt hashing algorithm. Cryptocurrencies with this algorithm can be effectively mined only on ASIC devices. Dogecoin can be mined in tandem with LTC, but weak ASIC models can be unprofitable if the price of coins decreases.

Litecoin and Doge mining is called merged: this means that it does not separate the hash rate for the two cryptocurrencies, but uses common capacities. As of early 2022, there are two main variants of merged mining: Bitcoin (BTC) and Namecoin (NMC), Litecoin (LTC) and Dogecoin (DOGE). Earlier Litecoin was mined together with Myriadcoin (XMY), but now this combination is not profitable because of the low price of the second coin.

Following pools enable mining LTC + DOGE:

  • F2pool
  • Litecoinpool
  • EMCD

In 2021, Binance launched its own pool for mining these coins in pairs. For each service, setup is slightly different, detailed instructions are on the official website of each pool.

Advantages and disadvantages of dual mining

Pros:

  • Using the full potential of the device. Dual mining uses all the processing power of the device, especially if it is a graphics card with LHR.
  • Software. There are many software programs for dual mining, which solve all the main problems when setting up.
  • It does not slow down Ethereum mining. When pair mining with ETH, its hashrate will not decrease.

Cons:

  • Hardware wear and tear. During high loads, graphics cards and ASIC miners heat up a lot, so all fans and other components of the device work at maximum. This significantly reduces the service life of the devices.
  • Increased power consumption. With the load on the graphics card, the power consumption also increases, hence the bills for it will be higher.

Dual mining is an interesting opportunity to unlock the full potential of the hardware. Considering the ease of setup, you can experiment with different pairs and find the most profitable one. However, you should be careful and make sure that the hardware does not overheat, and that mining does not become unprofitable due to falling asset rates.

Subscribe to Getblock Magazine and stay up to date with the latest news from the world of cryptocurrencies and the digital economy

Приводим подробную инструкцию по настройке оборудования для одновременной добычи сразу двух криптовалют

​Как майнеру увеличить доход. Добываем сразу несколько криптовалют

05.05.2022

4532

10 мин

В 2021 году Nvidia выпустила новую линейку видеокарт RTX 3000 Lite Hash Rate (LHR), которые автоматически занижают хешрейт на 50% при добыче Ethereum. Это решение было принято для того, чтобы снизить интерес майнеров к видеокартам. Но их эти ограничения не остановили, спустя время удалось разблокировать дополнительные мощности, которые сделали LHR-карты на 74% эффективнее.

В сообществе майнеров постоянно ищут новые способы увеличения дохода. Одним из таких способов стала добыча двух криптовалют одновременно. К 2022 году энтузиасты научились использовать различные комбинации монет. Подробно рассказываем о том, как настроить дуал-майнинг, а также разбираемся какие пары криптовалют наиболее прибыльны.

Что такое дуал-майнинг?

Дуал-майнинг или парный майнинг — это технология, которая позволяет параллельно добывать две криптовалюты на одном устройстве. Соответственно, парный майнинг происходит в двух цепях одновременно, при этом используется алгоритм со вспомогательным доказательством работы (Auxiliary Proof of Work / AuxPoW). При такой системе один из активов будет «родительским», а второй — «вспомогательным».

Когда дуал-майнинг выполняется при помощи видеокарты, одна криптовалюта будет использовать графический процессор (GPU), а другая — центральный (CPU). Также существуют специальные ASIC-майнеры для добычи двух криптовалют одновременно. К такому оборудованию относится Gridseed GC3355, на подобных моделях можно добывать Litecoin в связке с Dogecoin.

Пары с Ethereum

Ethereum использует алгоритм хеширования Ethash, помимо ETH он используется другими криптовалютами: Ethereum Classic (ETC), Musicoin (MUSIC), Ubiq (UBQ), Expanse (EXP). В паре с ETH и ранее перечисленными монетами можно добывать: Alephium (ALPH), Conflux (CFX), Ergo (ERG), RavenCoin (RVN), TonCoin (TON) и др. Доходность каждой комбинации можно рассчитать с помощью сервиса WhatToMine.

Стоит отметить, что для дуал-майнинга необходимо иметь большой объем видеопамяти, поскольку графический процессор должен хранить два полных набора данных из каждого блокчейна, которые называются направленными ациклическими графами (DAG).

ETH + ERG. Для такой комбинации необходимо 8 ГБ видеопамяти. При майнинге на RTX 3080Ti можно достичь скорости хэширования в 35 Mh/s для ETH и 180 Mh/s для ERGO.

ETH + RVN. Для двойного майнинга Ravencoin и Ethereum требуется не менее 10 ГБ видеопамяти в Windows и 8 ГБ в Linux. Использование 3080Ti дает скорость хеширования ETH 35 Mh/s и 29 Mh/s для Ravencoin.

ETH + CFX. Ethereum и Conflux — единственная комбинация, для которой требуется 10 ГБ видеопамяти. С 3080Ti скорость хеширования ETH/CFX достигает 36 Mh/s и 60 Mh/s соответственно.

ETH + TON. Для этой связки требуется менее 8 ГБ видеопамяти. Скорость хеширования на 3080Ti будет достигать 87 Mh/s для ETH и 263 Mh/s для TON. Эта комбинация считается самой прибыльной на конец апреля 2022 года, она приносит на 50% больше дохода, в сравнении с одиночным майнингом Ethereum.

Настройка для Ethereum + Ergo

Для запуска двойного майнинга ETH + ERG нужно использовать программу Claymore's Dual Ethereum Miner для Windows. Во-первых, необходимо зарегистрировать кошельки для выбранных криптовалют. Во-вторых, выбрать майнинговые пулы, которые поддерживают эти два актива.

Далее перейдем к настройке майнера. Для этого создаем .bat файл в папке с программой. Открываем его в блокноте и пишем в нем строку настройки, первая часть файла будет отвечать за Ethereum, вторая — за Ergo.

Окончательный вариант файла должен выглядеть следующим образом:

EthDcrMiner64.exe -epool “адрес пула Ethereum” -ewal “адрес кошелька Ethereum” -eworker “имя воркера в пуле Ethereum” 
-epsw “пароль воркера в пуле Ethereum” -dpool “адрес пула Decred” -dwal “адрес кошелька Ergo” 
-dworker “имя воркера в пуле Ergo” -dpsw “пароль воркера в пуле Ergo” -dcri 30

Примечание: для некоторых пулов не обязательно указывать пароль и имя воркера, а также адрес кошелька, так как средства могут зачисляться напрямую на платформу. В Интернете существуют готовые пресеты и сервисы для создания .bat файлов.

Значение «-dcri» отвечает за интенсивность майнинга Ergo, рекомендуется выставлять значение 30 до 45, при увеличении интенсивности начнет проседать скорость хеширования монет, а видеокарта перегреется.

После этих настроек необходимо запустить Claymore через созданный ранее .bat файл, далее программа отобразит в консоли данные о хешрейте и температуре. При парном майнинге видеокарта нагревается значительно быстрее, поэтому рекомендуется выставить максимально допустимое значение температуры, при котором процесс будет автоматически прерываться. Можно поэкспериментировать с настройками, чтобы добиться оптимального хешрейта.

Настройка для Ethereum + Toncoin

В феврале 2022 года разработчикам lolMiner удалось реализовать функцию двойного майнинга для TON и ETH. Майнинг этих двух монет почти на 50% выгоднее, чем одиночная добыча Ethereum. Майнинг TON требует всего от 2 до 3 Гб видеопамяти, поэтому его можно выполнять на более слабых устройствах.

Для начала необходимо зарегистрировать кошельки для обеих монет. Далее скачиваем lolMiner, программа доступна для Windows, Linux, RaveOS, HiveOS. В загруженном архиве будет пять .bat файлов:

  • dual_mine_eth_aleph_herominer.bat
  • dual_mine_eth_aleph_woolypooly.bat
  • dual_mine_eth_ton_icemining.bat
  • dual_mine_eth_ton_toncoinpool.bat
  • dual_mine_eth_ton_tonwales.bat

Эти файлы предназначены для разных пулов TON, рассмотрим на примере TonWales.

Примечание: lolMiner по умолчанию использует пул Ethermine для майнинга ETH. Рекомендуется сменить его, так как сервис больше не работает с пользователями из России.

Открываем нужный .bat в блокноте, находим там следующие строки и меняем параметры на свои:

set "POOL=пул для Ethereum (по умолчанию Ethermine)"
set "WALLET=адрес кошелька Ethereum.имя устройства"
set "TONPOOL=https://server1.whalestonpool.com"
set "TONWALLET=адрес кошелька Tomcoin"

Потом запускаем lolMiner через созданный файл. На разных устройствах эффективность добычи будет отличаться, но с учетом доходности обеих монет двойной майнинг всегда будет выгодней, чем добыча только Ethereum. Подробную статистику о майнинге ETH + TON можно посмотреть в сервисе Hashrate.no.

Дуал-майнинг LTC + DOGE и других криптовалют

Сеть Litecoin использует алгоритм хеширования Scrypt. Криптовалюты с таким алгоритмом могут эффективно добываться только на ASIC-устройствах. В паре с LTC можно майнить Dogecoin, однако слабые модели ASIC могут быть убыточными в случае снижения стоимости монет.

Майнинг Litecoin и Doge называется объединенным — это значит, что он не разделяет хешрейт на две криптовалюты, а использует общие мощности. На начало 2022 года существует два основных варианта объединенного майнинга: Bitcoin (BTC) и Namecoin (NMC), Litecoin (LTC) и Dogecoin (DOGE). Раньше Litecoin добывали в паре с Myriadcoin (XMY), но сейчас эта комбинация невыгодна из-за низкой стоимости второй монеты.

Следующие пулы позволяют выполнять майнинг LTC + DOGE:

  • F2pool
  • Litecoinpool
  • EMCD

В 2021 году Binance запустила собственный пул парного майнинга этих монет. Для каждого сервиса настройка немного отличаются, подробные инструкции есть на официальном сайте каждого пула.

Преимущества и недостатки дуал-майнинга

Плюсы:

  • Использование потенциала устройства на полную. При двойном майнинге задействуется вся вычислительная мощность устройства, особенно если это видеокарты с LHR.
  • Программное обеспечение. Существует множество программ для дуал-майнинга, которые решают все основные трудности при настройке.
  • Не замедляет добычу Ethereum. При парном майнинге с ETH его хешрейт не будет снижаться.

Минусы:

  • Износ оборудования. Во время высоких нагрузок видеокарты и ASIC-майнеры сильно греются, поэтому все вентиляторы и другие компоненты устройства работают на максимум. Это значительно снижает срок службы устройств.
  • Повышенное энергопотребление. С нагрузкой на видеокарту увеличиваются и затраты электроэнергии, следовательно и счета за нее будут больше.

Дуал-майнинг — интересная возможность, чтобы раскрыть весь потенциал оборудования. Учитывая простоту настройки, можно поэкспериментировать с разными парами и найти самую выгодную. Однако следует быть осторожным и следить, чтобы оборудование не перегревалось, а майнинг не становился убыточным из-за падения курсов активов.

Подписывайтесь на Getblock Magazine и будьте всегда в курсе последних новостей из мира криптовалют и цифровой экономики