Indians will start paying capital gains tax on crypto transactions from April 1

India to impose a 30% tax on cryptocurrency transactions

25.03.2022 - 15:15


1 min

What’s new? India’s crypto tax law will come into effect on April 1, CoinDesk reports. Indians will start paying a capital gains tax of 30% on crypto transactions. Also, Indian residents will have to pay a 1% tax deducted at source (TDS) and taxes on crypto gifts, without the ability to make deductions for losses.

Link to CoinDesk

What preceded it? In February this year, Indian Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman announced the introduction of a capital gains tax for cryptocurrencies. At the same time, a petition was created on calling for a 30% reduction in the tax rate.

Link to

Earlier, the Advertising Standards Council of India (ASCI) issued guidelines on cryptocurrency advertising. It said that the cryptocurrency companies must include a disclaimer in all their advertisements. The new rules will take effect on April 1.

Subscribe to Getblock Magazine and stay up to date with the latest news from the world of cryptocurrencies and the digital economy