What are the unique solutions of the project, why developers are interested in it, and will there be token airdrop

​What zkSync is and why it is important for Ethereum. We are explaining in simple words

02.11.2022

190

4 min

According to Ethereum’s roadmap, in the coming years, a significant share of the network’s activity will pass through second-tier platforms running on so-called Rollups. These are networks on top of the main blockchain that help speed up and optimize transactions and make them cheaper and more private at the same time. Vitalik Buterin calls the introduction of layer 2 solutions that allow scaling the network the main goal after the network switches to the Proof-of-Stake (PoS) algorithm.

What is zkSync?

The zkSync rollup is a new approach to solving Ethereum’s scaling problems. It is one of the first applications of Zero-knowledge (ZK) technology, and zkSync is likely to be the first project to use this technology, initially having compatibility with applications on Ethereum smart contracts. Working through rollup, DeFi services, and decentralized exchanges will become faster and cheaper for users.

zkSync is part of the group of projects ZK-Rollups (along with StarkNet, Loopring, and others). The zkSync protocol itself is a Layer 2 (L2) network for Ethereum, allowing multiple transactions to be combined into a single packet, and sent to the mainnet for verification. ZkSync could become an alternative to existing layer 2 solutions such as Arbitrum or Optimism.

The launch of the zkSync mainnet will be a game changer for Ethereum, as it will be the first time that the new zkSync approach to scaling will be tested in a real-world environment rather than in testnets. Once zkSync is fully launched, transactions in Ethereum will be possible 10-20 times faster and cheaper than under current conditions.

Scalability is critical for infrastructure. In the future, the number of applications on the ETH blockchain will multiply, and there will be a significant influx of new users, related, for example, to a new bull market cycle and the further evolution of the crypto industry.

After The Merge. What Vitalik Buterin considers the most important for Ethereum

Matter Labs is behind the development of ZkSync. On the project team is Steve Newcomb, who founded Powerset, which was acquired by Microsoft and later became part of Microsoft Bing. Working alongside him is Anthony Rose, who led engineering teams at SpaceX for several years, creating software for Falcon, Dragon, and Starlink.

zkSync uses the virtual environment ZkEVM (Zero Knowledge Ethereum Virtual Machine) to run smart contracts, and it is fully compatible with the existing Ethereum environment. Developers will be able to write ZK applications in Solidity and easily migrate to zkSync once the mainnet is up and running.

The scaling efficiency that zkSync offers can attract new projects, and existing ones can easily migrate to rollup. More than 100 projects have already shown interest in deploying their applications on zkSync after the mainnet launch. These include the largest decentralized exchange Uniswap and liquidity aggregator 1inch. It is believed that services from other blockchains and ecosystems could migrate to zkSync if the launch is successful.

When will zkSync go live?

Since February, zkSync has been running in a testnet, where it is possible to interact with rollup-enabled platforms and applications, such as decentralized exchange ZigZag, NFT platforms Pinata and ZKNFT, 1KX, a DeFi protocol, and others.

The launch of the mainnet itself is divided into several phases. Each phase is designed to gradually build up and stress-test different parts of the network before opening up access to the broader user base or allowing other projects to fully deploy.

The first launch, called the Baby Alpha phase, took place on October 28. In this phase, the network is launched without support from outside projects to make sure everything works properly.

Once that is done, the Fair Launch Alpha phase will begin. It is expected later this year and will allow ecosystem projects to be moved and open access to a limited number of users. The last phase will be Full Alpha, which will allow all projects and users to deploy and use zkSync. The team also plans to complete the last phase by the end of the year.

Will there be a token and airdrop?

On October 20, Steve Newcomb of Matter Labs said during a Twitter broadcast ahead of the launch of the first version of the zkSync mainnet that the project would announce details about the native token in November. The “tokenomics” section of the project’s documentation openly states that the native token of zkSync will be used for staking and as collateral for validators.

There is a belief in the community that Matter Labs will follow the example of Optimism and Aptos projects, which have given generous airdrops to users of their testnets. Optimism is also a layer 2 solution for Ethereum. The project gave away 5% of its existing OP tokens to early users in May and announced further giveaways for qualified participants.

Whether Matter Labs will follow Optimism’s lead in distributing tokens to the community is not yet known. In the same Twitter broadcast, Newcomb called the possibility of an airdrop “just a rumor,” but did not deny it as fact either. The generous airdrop of the Aptos project was a powerful marketing move for it and created a significant resonance in the community, provoking demand for APT tokens and interest in the ecosystem. It can be assumed that zkSync will take advantage of a similar move.

Subscribe to Getblock Magazine and stay up to date with the latest news from the world of cryptocurrencies and the digital economy

Чем уникальны решения проекта, почему он интересен разработчикам, и будет ли раздача токенов

Что такое zkSync и чем он важен для Ethereum. Объясняем простыми словами

02.11.2022

411

7 мин

Согласно дорожной карте Ethereum, в ближайшие годы значительная доля активности в сети будет проходить через платформы второго уровня, работающих на так называемых «роллапах» (Rollups). Это сети поверх основного блокчейна, помогающие ускорить и оптимизировать транзакции, а заодно сделать их более дешевыми и приватными. Именно внедрение решений второго уровня, позволяющих масштабировать сеть, Виталик Бутерин называет главной целью после перехода сети на алгоритм Proof-of-Stake (PoS).

Что такое zkSync?

Роллап zkSync – это новый подход к решению проблем масштабирования Ethereum. Это одно из первых применений технологии доказательства нулевого разглашения (Zero knowledge, ZK), и zkSync, вероятно, станет первым проектом, применяющим эту технологию, изначально имея совместимость с приложениями на смарт-контрактах Ethereum. При работе через роллап DeFi-сервисы и децентрализованные биржи станут быстрее и дешевле для пользователей.

zkSync входит в группу проектов ZK-Rollups (наряду с StarkNet, Loopring и другими). Сам протокол zkSync – это сеть второго уровня (L2) для Ethereum, позволяющая объединять множество транзакций в единый пакет, и передавать его в основную сеть для подтверждения. ZkSync может стать альтернативой существующим решениям второго уровня, таким как Arbitrum или Optimism.

Запуск основной сети zkSync станет поворотным моментом для Ethereum, поскольку впервые новый подход zkSync к масштабированию будет проверяться в реальных условиях, а не в тестовых сетях. После полноценного запуска zkSync в Ethereum станут возможны транзакции в 10-20 раз быстрее и дешевле, чем в текущих условиях.

Масштабируемость критически важна для инфраструктуры. В будущем кратно увеличится количество приложений на блокчейне ETH, и будет иметь место значительный приток новых пользователей, связанный, например, с новым циклом бычьего рынка и дальнейшей эволюцией криптоиндустрии.

После «Слияния». Что Виталик Бутерин считает самым важным для Ethereum

За разработкой ZkSync стоит Matter Labs. В команде проекта Стив Ньюкомб, который основал компанию Powerset, приобретенную Microsoft и позже ставшую частью Microsoft Bing. Вместе с ним работает Энтони Роуз, который несколько лет возглавлял инженерные группы в SpaceX, создавая программное обеспечение для Falcon, Dragon и Starlink.

zkSync использует виртуальную среду ZkEVM (Zero Knowledge Ethereum Virtual Machine) для выполнения смарт-контрактов, и она полностью совместима с существующей средой Ethereum. Разработчики смогут писать ZK-приложения на языке Solidity и легко перейти на zkSync после запуска основной сети.

Эффективность масштабирования, которую предлагает zkSync, может привлечь новые проекты, а существующие смогут без проблем перейти на роллап. Более 100 проектов уже проявили интерес к развертыванию своих приложений на zkSync после запуска мейннета. В их числе крупнейшая децентрализованная биржа Uniswap и агрегатор ликвидности 1inch. Есть мнение, что при успешном запуске на zkSync могут мигрировать сервисы в том числе из других блокчейнов и экосистем.

Когда zkSync заработает?

С февраля zkSync работает в тестовой сети, где можно взаимодействовать с платформой и приложениями с поддержкой роллапа, например, децентрализованной биржей ZigZag, NFT-платформами Pinata и ZKNFT, DeFi-протоколом 1KX и другими.

Сам запуск основной сети разбит на несколько этапов. Каждый этап предназначен для постепенного наращивания возможностей и стресс-теста различных участков сети, прежде чем открыть доступ широким массам пользователей или предоставить другим проектам возможность полноценного развертывания.

Первый запуск называется этапом Baby Alpha состоялся 28 октября. На этом этапе сеть запущена без поддержки внешних проектов, чтобы убедиться, что все работает должным образом.

Как только это будет сделано, начнется этап Fair Launch Alpha. Он намечен на конец этого года и позволит перенести в сеть экосистемные проекты и открыть доступ для ограниченного числа пользователей. Последним этапом станет Full Alpha, в рамках которого все проекты и пользователи смогут развернуть и использовать zkSync. Команда также планирует завершить подготовку завершающей фазы к концу года.

Будут ли токен и эйрдроп?

20 октября Стив Ньюкомб из Matter Labs во время трансляции в Twitter в преддверии к запуску первой версии основной сети zkSync, сказал, что проект объявит подробности о нативном токене в ноябре. В разделе «токеномика» в документации проекта открыто говорится, что токен zkSync будет использоваться для стекинга и в качестве залога для валидаторов.

В сообществе существует мнение, что Matter Labs последует примеру проектов Optimism и Aptos, устроивших щедрые эйдропы пользователям своих тестовых сетей. Optimism также является решением второго уровня для Ethereum. В мае проект раздал 5% существующих токенов OP ранним пользователям и анонсировал дальнейшие раздачи для квалифицированных участников.

Последует ли Matter Labs примеру Optimism в распространении токенов среди сообщества, пока неизвестно. В той же трансляции в Twitter Ньюкомб назвал возможность эйдропа «простым слухом», но и не отрицал его как факт. Щедрый эйрдроп проекта Aptos стал для него мощным маркетинговым ходом и создал значительный резонанс в сообществе, спровоцировавший спрос на токены APT и интерес к экосистеме. Можно предположить, что и zkSync воспользуется подобным ходом.

Подписывайтесь на Getblock Magazine и будьте всегда в курсе последних новостей из мира криптовалют и цифровой экономики